newbie here

Yes, the obligatory introductions section, but serves a good purpose - like a good, soft toilet paper - used only once but truly wonderful! "Here's to you and here's to me, may we never disagree - if perchance we ever do, here's to me and to hell with you!"
AK9
Cap'n

newbie here

Post by AK9 »

Hi to all.
Whisky drinker trying something new here.
I have always thought that understanding what you drink (history/ingredients/process) is as important as the drink itself sometimes. This is why I asked CJ to join the forum since I am looking for more info about rum (or at least a place to discuss about what we dont know).

Rum is quite impressive as to the number of countries which produce it so it is always good to know what the different countries techniques are.
I have not find much sites in the internet that go into the depth of discussion that this site has regarding how rum that is on our glasses is produced (materials/process/bottling).

I was more interested in the Demerara bottlings (and their famous stills) but having tried a Longpond, I am also trying to get more info/try the Jamaican distilleries as well.

I do like the concept of single casks (no additions) and try to understand if this is something that is possible with rum and which bottlers would be providing such products.

Many thanks !
AK
Blade Rummer
Quartermaster

Post by Blade Rummer »

Welcome to the forums!

If you're lucky enough to live somewhere you can easily find smaller independent bottlers (read : not in North America) then for sure you can find some rum without any added sugar, flavorings etc.

Demerara rum is great, but from what I've learned here, the only way to get any unadulterated rum from Guyana is the independent bottlers.

As a whiskey drinker, you'll probably enjoy the drier rums, which happily are often pure rums as well. Both Appleton and Barbancourt are my to-go rums and I think they would both appeal to a whiskey drinker.
bearmark
Beermeister

Post by bearmark »