Hello from a History Researcher

Yes, the obligatory introductions section, but serves a good purpose - like a good, soft toilet paper - used only once but truly wonderful! "Here's to you and here's to me, may we never disagree - if perchance we ever do, here's to me and to hell with you!"
CSPHistorical
Greaser

Hello from a History Researcher

Post by CSPHistorical »

Hello, my name is David Fictum.
I am a researcher/historian that specializes in Colonial/Maritime/Pirate history of the late seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries. Ever since I finished my graduate program from the Maritime Studies program at East Carolina University (in the state of North Carolina, USA), I've been writing and self publishing articles concerning the above specialization on my site "Colonies, Ships, and Pirates: Concerning History in the Atlantic World, 1680-1740" csphistorical.com . In January of this year, I published an article entitled "Salt Pork, Ship's Biscuit, and Burgoo: Sea Provisions for Common Sailors and Pirates, Part 1" https://csphistorical.com/2016/01/24/sa ... es-part-1/
The article became quite popular on my site, receiving many views as a result of google searches. I had a lot of material that I wanted to put into part 1 that I couldn't, and would probably have material that wouldn't fit into what I intended to be part 2. So I decided that it would be better to write everything into a book. Since a book would allow more room than the articles do on my site, I figured I should write either a chapter or very large subsection of a chapter (it's going to be many pages either way) on rum. My readers will probably expect significant coverage of rum.