Are these still the standards?

This is the main discussion section. Grab yer cups! All hands on deck!
GregS
Greaser

Are these still the standards?

Post by GregS »

As I think I've said in ever post so far, I'm new to rum. I really want to see just what the world of rum has to offer. I started with a bottle of Mount Gay XO and have since been picking up bottles that are rated well and seem to be a decent price.

But I got to thinking that I need to develop a plan of sorts instead of just winging it. So I think that I need to get a good representative bottle of each style of rum.

So I went back to the Rum Project page and Chapter 2 lists these as the standard rums. However on some other pages I see that the prices are different than the current prices I'm seeing online and in the store. It got me wondering if these are still seen as being the standards.

1. The Original, Barbados/Bajan: Mount Gay XO
2. Jamaican Aromatic: Appleton Extra
3. French Agricole: Clement Cuvee Homere or Barbencourt Five Star
4. Demerara Style: El Dorado 15
5. Cuban Light: Havana Club Anejo 15 Anos or Ron Matusalem Gran Reserva

Also, are these still good representatives of the styles? Or are there "better" examples of the styles out there?
Rum newbie interested in experiencing what the world of rum has to offer.
RumRatings profile
Capn Jimbo
Rum Evangelisti and Compleat Idiot

Post by Capn Jimbo »

Unfortunately those "standards" (a) were only suggested by moi and (b) were way, way, WAY before the sugar testing program happened.

With that in mind you can forget about the ED12, as - gulp - the once revered El Dorado was shown to be one of the great cheaters. Check the sugar section for the ED's as some of the younger ones were less altered, but for the Demeraran style you'd be far better to find a good independent issue, which are, in general, less likely to be altered.

The Master Sugar List reveals all...
GregS
Greaser

Post by GregS »